What’s SXSW and Why should I go?

sxswThis year will be my 3rd year to volunteer for SXSW and for the most part I start counting down the days two months out! It has been one of the best things I ever decided to do. South By (what it’s call for those in the know) is an event that brings people from all over the world to connect in three main areas Film, Interactive, and Music. I’ve grown up in Austin and never really knew or understood the impact that South By had on the rest of the country and the world. While people flee the city of Austin during this mega event, a greater number of people descend on this great city ready to “work hard and play hard”. That seems to be the motto for everything that goes on. Through my work volunteering I have gotten the privilege to see what Austin changes into each year. The Interactive Festival the part I volunteer for has been the fastest growing section of the event.

My schedule during SXSW is grueling  I work 5 consecutive 10 hour days where I am constantly challenged while IMG_20120312_194702working on the conference level. I deal with everything from helping panelist, setting up rooms and crowd control. Everything moves quickly and you have to be able to think on you feet and take charge. Not everyone is cut out for this job. I have seen people put in a days work and then never come back. It’s hard work but I strive in this type of environment.  As a volunteer that works 50 hours you are given a badge of your choice.  The opportunity to get a music badge ($750)  for simply taking time out to work hard for a few days is absolutely worth it to me.

It’s crazy but when you get to see Jay-Z performing 3 feet in front of you in a smaller setting than he normally plays all the days of hard work kind of just fade away…

So if you are lucky enough to get to SXSW in 2013 I’m sure it will be a great year and if you think that volunteering is for you then sign up, either way it is the best place to be come March.

sxsw 2

Leave a comment